News & Media

Brisbane’s 2010 line-up announced

26 November 2009, by Brisbane International Tennis

Four Grand Slam winners, five former No.1s, an additional 10 former top 10 players and crowd favourites headline an exciting field for the Brisbane International this January.

With the full player list announced today, Grand Slam Champions, Andy Roddick (US Open 2003), Kim Clijsters (US Open 2009 and 2005), Ana Ivanovic (French Open 2008) and Justine Henin (Australian Open 2004, French Open 2007, 2006, 2005 and 2003 and US Open 2007 and 2003 will be the major attractions.

In the men’s draw, 2009 Wimbledon finalist and world No.6 Roddick is joined by the reigning champion Radek Stepanek, fellow Czech Tomas Berdych, Frenchmen Gael Monfils and Richard Gasquet, and crowd favourites James Blake and Marcos Baghdatis.

Clijsters, Henin and Ivanovic are joined by world No.2 Dinara Safina, fellow Russian Nadia Petrova, glamour girl Daniela Hantuchova and former Gold Coast Champion Lucie Safarova.

Australia will be represented by Jelena Dokic in the women’s draw and Peter Luczak in the men’s draw with Taylor Dent, son of former ATP player and 1974 Australian Open finalist Phil Dent, adding another Australian angle.

Brisbane International Tournament Director Steve Ayles said he is excited about the strength of the player field in 2010.

“Both the men’s and women’s draws have some real star power, depth and flamboyant players creating a great mix for spectators,” Ayles said.

“We have had a lot of success in attracting new players in 2010 but have also benefited from a large number of players wanting to return to compete in their second Brisbane International.

“Fifteen out of 25 men and 14 out of 24 women are returning players, which is the ultimate endorsement for the tournament, the event and the city.

“It is going to be very exciting to see who’s going to start their 2010 season in the best possible way – in good form and with a title win in Brisbane.”

The men’s draw is again dominated by the French with Monfils, Gasquet, Jeremy Chardy, Arnaud Clement, Marc Gicquel, Michael Llodra, Paul-Henri Mathieu and Florent Serra named in the main draw.

Brisbane International 2010 series packages and single sessions are on sale now. Ground passes remain $9.90 with the qualifying event on Friday 1–2 January 2010 remaining free.

Tickets can be purchased online at or 1300 888 104.

Official Brisbane International line-up (men’s)
Roddick, Andy USA No.6
Stepanek, Radek CZE No.12
Gael Monfils FRA No.13
Berdych, Tomas CZE No.20
Querrey, Sam USA No.25
Melzer, Jurgen AUT No.28
Mathieu, Paul-Henri FRA No.33
Chardy, Jeremy FRA No.32
Bellucci, Thomaz BRA No.36
Beck, Andreas GER No.39
Baghdatis, Marcos CYP No.42
Blake, James USA No.44
Zeballos, Horacio ARG No.45
Gasquet, Richard FRA No.52
Fish, Mardy USA No.56
Gicquel, Marc FRA No.58
Clement, Arnaud FRA No.64
Serra, Florent FRA No.66
Llodra, Michael FRA No.69
Chela, Juan Ignacio ARG No.76
Dent, Taylor USA No.77
Luczak, Peter AUS No.78
Zverev, Mischa GER No.79
Petzschner, Philipp GER No.81
Falla, Alejandro COL No.82

Official Brisbane International line-up (women’s)
Justine Henin BEL Wildcard
Safina, Dinara RUS No.2
Clijsters, Kim BEL No.18
Petrova, Nadia RUS No.20
Ivanovic, Ana SRB No.22                    
Hantuchova, Daniela SVK No.25                                                    
Kleybanova, Alisa RUS No.30
Wozniak, Aleksandra CAN No.35
Czink, Melinda HUN No.38
Benesova, Iveta CZE No.39    
Szavay, Agnes HUN No.40
Pavlyuchenkova, Anastasia RUS No.41
Safarova, Lucie CZE No.42
Peng, Shuai CHN No.47
Errani, Sara ITA No.48    
Govortsova, Olga BLR No.52
Bacsinszky, Timea SUI No.54
Bammer, Sybille AUT No.55
Petkovic, Andrea GER No.56
Dokic, Jelena AUS No.57
Garbin, Tathiana ITA No.59
Makarova, Ekaterina RUS No.60
Vinci, Roberta ITA No.64
Hradecka, Lucie CZE No.65
Groenefeld, Anna-Lena GER No.67