News & Media

Full field announced: Seven Grand Slam champions are heading to Brisbane

21 November 2018, by Brisbane International Tennis

Seven Grand Slam champions will headline Brisbane International 2019 in one of the strongest fields assembled in the tournament’s 11 year history.

 Grand Slam champions, Rafael Nadal (ESP), Andy Murray (GBR), Naomi Osaka (JPN), Sloane Stephens (USA), Petra Kvitova (CZE), Jelena Ostapeno (LAT) and Sam Stosur (Qld) are amongst a star studded line-up beginning their summer in Brisbane.

 Defending men’s champion Nick Kyrgios (ACT) returns alongside past Brisbane champions and finalists Grigor Dimitrov (BUL), Milos Raonic (CAN), Ryan Harrison (USA) and Kei Nishikori (JPN).

 In the women’s draw, defending Brisbane champion, Elina Svitolina (UKR),  the 2016 winner, Karolina Pliskova (CZE), Kiki Bertens (NED) and Daria Kasatkina (RUS) round out the top-ten contingent bound for Brisbane.

 Daria Gavrilova (Vic) will provide local support alongside Stosur to ensure Australian resistance on home soil. Gavrilova was in Brisbane for the full field announcement and is excited about the depth of the women’s draw.

 “To have so many top players coming to Brisbane is fantastic. I am looking forward to producing some great tennis here and getting my new season underway,” Gavrilova said.

 Next Gen ATP Finals runner-up and ATP Newcomer of the Year, Alex de Minaur (NSW) is set to ignite Pat Rafter Arena again, 12 months after bursting onto the international tennis stage at the Brisbane International.   As a wildcard, De Minaur  defeated the then world No. 24 Raonic on his way to a first tour level semifinal.

 De Minaur leads the ATP Next Gen charge with Taylor Fritz (USA).  

 Crowd favourites John Millman (QLD), Jordan Thompson (NSW) and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) bolster the stellar men’s field along with top-20 players  Kyle Edmund (GBR) and Daniil Medvedev (RUS).

 Brisbane International Tournament Director Cameron Pearson said tennis fans are guaranteed exciting matches from the very first round.

 “We are once again thrilled so many of the world’s best players want to come to Brisbane. This speaks volumes for the event, the fans who come to watch and the city of Brisbane,” Pearson said.

 “To have seven Grand Slam champions and sixteen ATP/WTA Top 20 players confirmed is great news, and our fans are in for another exciting week of world class tennis. We look forward to welcoming all the players to Brisbane for the first week of the 2019 year.”

 Brisbane Lord Mayor Graham Quirk said the city was ready to extend a warm welcome to some of the world’s best tennis players, who plan to start their 2019 campaigns in Brisbane.

 “The Brisbane International continues to be one of the most popular events of the city’s sporting calendar, and hosting the high quality talent announced today will be a major drawcard for tennis fans both near and far,” Cr Quirk said.

 “Not only will patrons be able to take in all the action on the court, but they will be able to experience the city’s newest accommodation, dining, retail and tourism offerings which are seeing Brisbane live up to its reputation as Australia’s New World City.”

 The Queensland Government via Tourism and Events Queensland is proud to support the Brisbane International. Your perfect next event is in Queensland where live events combine with the most incredible destinations and life is beautiful one day, perfect the next.

The official field for the 2019 Brisbane International is:

Men – includes world rankings

Rafael Nadal (ESP) – No.2

Andy Murray (GBR) – No.2 ** Entry Protected

Kei Nishikori (JPN) – No.9

Kyle Edmund (GBR) – No.14

Daniil Medvedev (RUS) – No.16

Milos Raonic (CAN) – No.18

Grigor Dimitrov (BUL) – No.19

Alex De Minaur (NSW) – No.31

John Millman (Qld) – No.34

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) – No.34** Entry Protected

Nick Kyrgios (ACT) – No.36

Jeremy Chardy (FRA) – No.40

Taylor Fritz (USA) – No.49

Ryan Harrison (USA) – No.47

Leonardo Mayer (ARG) – No.56

Jan-Lennard Struff (GER) – No.57

Tennys Sandgren (USA) – No.61

Denis Kudla (USA) – No.63

Aljaz Bedene (SLO) – No.67

Mischa Zverev (GER) – No.69

Jordan Thompson (NSW) – No.72


Women – includes world rankings

Elina Svitolina (UKR) – No.4

Naomi Osaka (JPN) – No.5

Sloane Stephens (USA) – No.6

Petra Kvitova (CZE) – No. 7

Karolina Pliskova (CZE) – No.8

Kiki Bertens (NED) – No.9

Daria Kasatkina (RUS) – No.10

Anastasija Sevastova (LAT) – No.12

Elise Mertens (BEL) – No.13

Anna Kontaveit (EST) – No.21

Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP) – No.23

Mihaela Buzarnescu (ROU) – No.24

Camila Giorgi (ITA) – No.26

Lesia Tsurenko (UKR) – No.27

Aliaksandra Sasnovich (BLR) – No.30

Katerina Siniakova (CZE) – No.31

Donna Vekic (CRO) – No.34

Danielle Collins (USA) – No.35

Daria Gavrilova (Vic) – No.36

Johanna Konta (GBR) – No.37

Kristina Mladenovic (FRA) – No.43

Yulia Putintseva (KAZ) – No.45

Samantha Stosur (AUS) – No.73 (WC)


Tickets to the Brisbane International are on sale via Ticketek.