News & Media

World-class field to join Murray and Hewitt

27 November 2012, by Brisbane International Tennis

World No.3 Andy Murray and Aussie stalwart Lleyton Hewitt will face a stellar line-up at the Brisbane International presented by Suncorp in 2013.

Five top 20 players including young gun and world No.13 Milos Raonic (CAN), world No.16 Gilles Simon (FRA), Brisbane 2012 runner-up and world No.18 Alexandr Dolgopolov (UKR), as well as world No.19 Kei Nishikori(JPN), have all signed on to start their year in the sunshine state.

“I am really looking forward to playing at the Brisbane International,” Raonic said.

“The Brisbane tournament has been an appealing choice to make this time round because I really enjoy being in Australia, it makes the travel a lot easier. I’ve played well in Australia and to be able to play in another city on the east coast is a good opportunity that I look forward to,” he continued.

“I look forward to new experiences, good food and building some good memories there,” Raonic added.

Also joining the Brisbane field is crowd favourite Marcos Baghdatis (CYP), new Australian No. 1 Marinko Matosevic  and former world No.5 Tommy Robredo (ESP).

Exciting new talent will also make an appearance, including David Goffin (BEL), Martin Klizan (SVK) and Grigor Dimitrov (BUL).              

Familiar faces such as former Brisbane champion Radek Stepanek (CZE), [28] Florian Mayer (GER), [29] Jurgen Melzer (AUT) and [58] Paul-Henri Mathieu (FRA) have also confirmed they will start their season in Brisbane.

Cameron Pearson, Brisbane International Tournament Director, said the 2013 men’s field will showcase some of the world’s finest players.

“The Brisbane International has always attracted a world-class men’s field and has done so again in 2013,” Pearson said.

“We have five top 20 players as well as a former world No.1 and the reigning Brisbane champion Andy Murray, who won gold at the Olympics earlier this year and captured his first Grand Slam title at the US Open during September.

“This is an incredible pool of players. Tennis fans won’t want to miss the world-class action on offer,” Pearson added.   

The Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games Jann Stuckey said the Brisbane International is a major drawcard for tennis fans.

“The 2013 tournament offers a great opportunity for spectators to see some of the world’s best players take to the court right here in Brisbane,” said Minister Stuckey.

“The Newman Government recognises the Brisbane International as a signature event on Queensland’s summer calendar and the tourism benefits will contribute to our 2020 goal to double annual overnight visitor expenditure to $30 billion.”

Official Brisbane International line-up (men)

Murray, Andy (GBR)                     No. 3

Raonic, Milos (CAN)                     No.13

Simon, Gilles (FRA)                       No. 16

Dolgopolov, Alexandr (UKR)  No.18

Nishikori, Kei (JPN)                       No. 19

Mayer, Florian (GER)                   No.28

Melzer, Jurgen (AUT)                  No.29

Klizan, Martin (SVK)                     No.30

Stepanek, Radek (CZE)               No.31

Benneteau, Julien (FRA)            No.35

Baghdatis, Marcos (CYP)          No.36

Nieminen, Jarkko (FIN)              No.41

Istomin, Dennis (UZB)                                No.43

Goffin, David (BEL)                        No.46

Dimitrov, Grigor (BUL)                               No.48

Matosevic, Marinko (AUS)       No.49

Robredo, Tommy (ESP)              No.50 @

Falla, Alejandro (COL)                                No.54

Giraldo, Santiago (COL)            No.57

Mathieu, Paul-Henri (FRA)       No. 58

Baker, Brian (USA)                        No.61

Hewitt, Lleyton (AUS)                 No.82 wc

@ – entry protection

wc – wild card


Official Brisbane International line-up (women)

Azarenka, Victoria (BLR)           No.1

Sharapova, Maria (RUS)            No.2

Williams, Serena (USA)               No.3

Kerber, Angelique (GER)           No. 5

Errani, Sara (ITA)                            No.6

Kvitova, Petra (CZE)                    No.8

Stosur, Samantha (AUS)           No.9

Wozniacki, Caroline (DEN)       No.10

Cibulkova, Dominika (SVK)      No.15

Vinci, Roberta (ITA)                      No.16

Safarova, Lucie (CZE)                  No. 17

Lepchenko, Varvara (USA)      No.21

Paszek, Tamira S (AUT)              No.30

Radwanska, Urszula (Pol)         No.31

Hantuchova, Daniela (SVK)      No. 32

Suarez Navarro, Carla (ESP)    No.34

Pavlyuchenkova, Anastasia (RUS) No. 36

Lisicki, Sabine K (GER)                                No. 37

Stephens, Sloane A (USA)        No.38

Arvidsson, Sofia (SWE)                               No. 41

Cornet, Alize (FRA)                       No.44

Hradecka, Lucie (CZE)                 No. 46

In 2012 the ATP recognised the Brisbane International for providing the best fan experience of any tournament throughout Asia-Pacific and Middle East.

Brisbane International 2013, presented by Suncorp and supported by Events Queensland, will take place at the Queensland Tennis Centre, Brisbane, from 30 December 2012 to 6 January 2013.

Brisbane International 2013 single tickets plus series packages are now on sale. Ground passes for the event are $16.90.

Tickets can be purchased online at or call 1300 888 104